It is currently Sun Jul 21, 2019 7:06 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Microtech computer tuning? Where to go?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 6:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:51 pm
Posts: 136
Location: Campbelltown
Hey guys i purchased my car a few months back, and it has trouble starting and doesnt idle properly. Ive been told from the dude that i purchased it from that it doesnt have a proper cold start map, but im unsure of the issue with idle, as the idle drops when extra power is used by say, sound system, air con etc.

Anyone know where i can go to not get a tune, but a cold start mapping or wahtever and idle set up on my computer at a cheaper than usual cost, or where in general to go?

Cheers
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Microtech computer tuning? Where to go?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 7:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2009 11:35 pm
Posts: 843
Location: newcastle
The only place to go to get an aftermarket ecu tuned or to 'get a cold start map' is somewhere proficient with the microtech, and with a dyno. This doesn't equate with a cheaper than usual cost.

_________________
Black Mk3 race car, now bright yellow !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Microtech computer tuning? Where to go?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 10:47 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 17558
Location: ACT
Yeah with a MicroTech you're looking at Dyno time to figure out the map, which equals dollars.

One alternative is to purchase a hand controller and have a go at fixing it yourself. There are a couple of settings for cranking that can be adjusted, but if you don't know what you're doing then it might be difficult to get it right. The engine struggling under electrical load can also be adjusted out if the IAC valve is installed and hooked up to the ECU.

_________________
Suzuki MightyBoy - Three pots and a snail.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Microtech computer tuning? Where to go?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 5:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 6:51 pm
Posts: 1772
Location: Chch - Quake Capital
You won't need dyno time to get the cold start sorted, I doubt very much the IAC valve will be wired up, I'd give you my settings but since I'm running quads on TPS mode I doubt if they will be very suitable for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Microtech computer tuning? Where to go?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 5:51 pm
Posts: 136
Location: Campbelltown
Yeah its actually in a 1.6l detomaso charade set up, the japanese import version. Kind of like the applause engine but this one has a few different features. But yeah i have a mechanic that i think ill give a crack at sorting it out. Guess thats one more thing to add to the shopping list haha theyre not that expensive anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group