It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:32 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Computer for mk1 turbo
PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2017 12:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 7:00 pm
Posts: 11
Location: hamilton
Hello guys
Just wondering what computers or such you are running on mk1 turbos as i have a mk1 that im thinking about turbocharging (low boost) and interested in how you have set them up


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Computer for mk1 turbo
PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 10:41 am
Posts: 1247
Location: Bunya QLD 4055
Is this a GTi or a lesser model, and what is your current configuration FI or carb, etc?

_________________
If "X" is an Unknown quantity, and a Spurt is a drip under pressure, then an "EXPERT" is an "Unknown Drip Under Pressure".
Why dont they just call it "Womenapause" instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Computer for mk1 turbo
PostPosted: Sun Aug 06, 2017 6:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 7:00 pm
Posts: 11
Location: hamilton
Sorry should of been more specific its a gti it also has a cultus head i think with hollow cams reverse intake and throttle body is larger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Computer for mk1 turbo
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 8:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 10:49 am
Posts: 533
Location: WA
I have an early Mk2 on low boost just running on a stock ECU.
Your mk1 can't easily be chipped, but as your ECU only runs fuel you can just retard the timing manually with the dizzy. Of course a fully programmable ECU will give you much more power and flexibility but at a greater cost.

_________________
Mk2 Gti khana car, various minis & mokes & German cars, a G13b Mini Sports Sedan, and a G13b Goggomobil hillclimb special


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Computer for mk1 turbo
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 7:00 pm
Posts: 11
Location: hamilton
Thanks for the reply i have only the intention to run about 10psi boost and dont mind spending a bit on a computer but is it overkill or could i get away with stock ecu and retard the timing manually


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Computer for mk1 turbo
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:30 am
Posts: 83
Location: Wellington
I doubt very much you could use stock ECU for 10psi. Fuel map is not aggressive enough to cope.
Aftermarket is the best solution, if not the only solution.

_________________
A Kiwi learning to fly in a Mk1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Computer for mk1 turbo
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:22 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 17515
Location: ACT
To add to that, you'd have to crank pretty hard on the distributor to stop it pinging, which would make it a pig to drive, and a bi**h to start! :lol:

_________________
Suzuki MightyBoy - Three pots and a snail.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Computer for mk1 turbo
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 7:00 pm
Posts: 11
Location: hamilton
No worries aftermarket ecu it is anyone brand a favorite amongst others that you guys would recommend


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Computer for mk1 turbo
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 4:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:30 am
Posts: 83
Location: Wellington
mouse902 wrote:
No worries aftermarket ecu it is anyone brand a favorite amongst others that you guys would recommend


Microtech, Haltech and Link are the three that I see used the most. If you are not going to tune it yourself, then use a computer that your tuner is familiar with. Mostly Haltech in Aussie and Link in NZ.

_________________
A Kiwi learning to fly in a Mk1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Computer for mk1 turbo
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 7:00 pm
Posts: 11
Location: hamilton
So out of curiosity what kind of boost can you run on a stock ecu turns out i have a rare ecu a epi-002 which i believe is a group a which explains the intake manifold and 45mm throttle body


Attachment:
20170812_115909.jpg
20170812_115909.jpg [ 2.96 MiB | Viewed 35 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Computer for mk1 turbo
PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 8:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:30 am
Posts: 83
Location: Wellington
Yes, that is a Group A ECU. Very rare.

This is what that ECU comes out of:

Subset of Limited production Cultus MK1 (Suzuki) Group A:
Right entry manifold - large diameter
45MM combo TB/AFM
Pipe type extractors
EPI002 ECU - 16K internal ROM - no eprom
CAMs - Group A:
I - 28 BTDC 56 ABDC duration 256 (234), lift 9.0mm,
E - 54 BBDC 22 ATDC duration 256 (224), lift 9.0mm, overlap 50
11.5:1 CR
Unknown HP at the flywheel

Where are you, Hamilton NZ or AUS?
Please post some pics of this rare car, I'd like to see it :D

As for boost, no more than 5psi on stock ECU. maybe 8 at the absolute max.
Seriously, there is no point turboing on a standard ECU, especially ones this old. Go aftermarket.

_________________
A Kiwi learning to fly in a Mk1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Computer for mk1 turbo
PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 10:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 15, 2009 7:00 pm
Posts: 11
Location: hamilton
Located in aus unfortunately i have no idea what happened to the car in which this engine came from as i purchased a mk1 originally carby and the previous owner had put this engine in it. I had intended to fix it up and use as a daily drive but when i got stuck into it found there to be way to much rust and scraped the project now this engine is being transplanted into my sierra (im bit of a suzuki fan also have a suzuki rm125). Who knows when i get an aftermarket ecu sorted i might throw it up for sale and someone might be able to put it to good use


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Computer for mk1 turbo
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 3:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:30 am
Posts: 83
Location: Wellington
I'll swap ya intake manifolds if the Cultus one is no good for a RWD Sierra :D

That ECU would have a limited market, but this forum would be the place to sell it.

_________________
A Kiwi learning to fly in a Mk1.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group