It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 12:22 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: tacho driver!
PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 8:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 1526
Location: Londoninium
Have installed a Haltech ECU with tacho signal out driver. However i believe the signal will not drive the standard GTI dash tacho. For those who know what have you done to amend this scenario.
Proprietary Tacho adaptor? Which one ?
or some resistor and diode sticky tape and contraption?
Other options.

Please help. this is all too new for me

GTP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: tacho driver!
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 1526
Location: Londoninium
No ones done this?

GTP


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: tacho driver!
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 12:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 5:19 pm
Posts: 1975
Location: Launceston, Tasmania
I run a Haltech Sprint 500 with stock Tacho work just fine, not sure how it's wired though as oringally it was wired to a Monster tacho and we just moved that back to the stock cluster. Initially it dodn't work but I think it was just earthed poorly as it now works just fine.

Sorry I can't be more help.

_________________
Back in the game! Now building something mental... Will I ever finish? I hope so! When? No idea.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: tacho driver!
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 5:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 1663
Location: Adelaide
Tassie, did you use the std dizzy and coil?

_________________
IPRA MK3 Gti ~ Mallala 19/11/11 1:23.5915
Sponsored by
Autosport ~ Velo Seats ~ Morpowa Dyno Centre ~ Diamond Concrete Finishers & Polishers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: tacho driver!
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2015 9:19 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 12:40 pm
Posts: 4019
Location: penriff
When I had my ps1000 fitted and tuned I had to use a crank trigger and mod the dizzy to single tooth to use as a homing signal, as the haltech couldn't use the factory chopper wheel config. Which seem to be pretty common with anthing to do with the way the Suzuki's and their factory triggers are setup!

There was a unit that haltech sold or should still sell that would let you use the factory rev counter, I never bothered trying as I was just going to end up using a race pack dash.. But that never happened.

_________________
Insert sig here


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: tacho driver!
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 4:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 5:19 pm
Posts: 1975
Location: Launceston, Tasmania
moylee19 wrote:
Tassie, did you use the std dizzy and coil?


I have a modified Dizzy and MSD Coil on mine.

_________________
Back in the game! Now building something mental... Will I ever finish? I hope so! When? No idea.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: tacho driver!
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 5:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 7:07 pm
Posts: 246
Location: Brisbane
Contact Sideshow bob on the old toymods forum. He will sort you out.

_________________
With NA you get no turbo lag.......Wait, actually you have permanent turbo lag


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group