It is currently Sat Nov 25, 2017 9:55 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours

Post subject: GTI into Cappuccino
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 10:07 pm 

Hey guys I've started a build with a GTI engine mated to a early Jiminy gearbox going into a Cappuccino. Engine is standard at this stage but plan on putting a IHI RHF4 VF25 turbo on it if its any good for the GTI engine. The turbo had been fitted to the 3 cylinder 660cc Cappo engine by previous owner, so that's why I plan to re-use it unless convinced otherwise. My Kind visiting brother in-law from the UK managed to blow the Cappo engine whilst I was working away and left it parked in my shed dirty and not a word said. Lucky he returned to the UK before I got home.

I have a few basic questions as I'm new to GTI's and the forum, so any sound advice will be appreciated.
I got my son to buy the GTI engine/loom etc (crashed) from guy in Perth off Gumtree as I work in Indonesia. Was advertised as 1994 Mk3 and ecu chipped.
How can I tell it is a MK3 and that the ecu is same?
What does the VF25 TURBO come off and will it suit the GTI?
I opened the ecu to see what chip was in it but cant find the socket with modified chip in it, unless chip has been soldered in?
I saw the steel layered head gasket on the forum for sale, are they better than standard as I bought some in Indonesia as they were cheap and brought back to WA. I hope to use one when the Cappo is running to build purpose turbo engine.

First time on forum so don't know if photos are attached or if I'm even in the correct section.
Regards GTI Cappo

Attachments:
File comment: 4 layered steel gasket
P1040103.JPG
P1040103.JPG [ 171 KiB | Viewed 10622 times ]
File comment: Can't wait for it to come off stands
P1040142.JPG
P1040142.JPG [ 160 KiB | Viewed 10618 times ]
File comment: GTI engine going into Cappuccino
P1040071.JPG
P1040071.JPG [ 162.5 KiB | Viewed 10625 times ]

Post subject: Re: GTI into Cappuccino
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2015 11:28 pm 

Hi Mate,

Welcome! :D