It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:35 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 1:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:16 am
Posts: 82
Location: barbados
i was wonderin what flywheels could be use to bolt back onto the gti crank to work with the 1600cc swift gearbox i was told you could use the 1600cc balano/esteme flywheel so you could work back the gti pressure plate correct? what else flywheel could you use and is there any modification that has to be done for it to work?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 3303
Location: Brisbane
1600 swift gearbox has a larger input shaft spline so you cant use gti type clutch plate,just use all the 1600 swift parts,flywheel,clutch,etc(although these are very heavy,I use a billet flywheel designed for this application, I have these in stock).
The conversion also requires a fabricated rear mount,and fabricated centre driveshaft mount to block.1600 axles also have to be used .Plus conversion to cable shift and cable clutch(gearbox end)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:16 am
Posts: 82
Location: barbados
what about the 1600 standard pressure plate dave wouldnt it not be able to handle the boost like that standard gti pressure plate?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 3303
Location: Brisbane
A std 1600 pressure plate and std clutch will be no good for turbo ,you will have to upgrade .

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 2:41 am
Posts: 91
Location: barbados
you can machine the GTI flywheel to accomodate the 1600 input shaft and use the GTI clutch and pressure plate.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 6:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 3303
Location: Brisbane
The gti clutch has a much smaller spline than the 1600 swift sedan gearbox.The 1600 baleno gearbox is just as weak as the gti gearbox so if your thinking of using one of those then its not worth the effort. the 1600 swift sedan gearbox is much stronger ,has a larger frame gearset and larger differential,much more suitable for turbo cars.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 2:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:16 am
Posts: 82
Location: barbados
dave i was woundering tosh made a good point to do with the swift gti flywheel just bore the hole for the 1600cc swift gearbox and use an upgraded sameria/sidekick clutch could that work? but what to do with the starting motor?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 4:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 7:40 am
Posts: 453
Location: london
does anyone do a lsd for the 1600 box and do you mean 4wd 1600 box theres also a justy box but i dont know how strong they are compared to a cultus 4wd box

steve

_________________
http://www.uk-ssgti.com
N/A THE EXPENSIVE WAY TO GO SLOW


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 9:06 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 11043
Location: RedlineGTi HQ
stevegti2 wrote:
does anyone do a lsd for the 1600 box and do you mean 4wd 1600 box theres also a justy box but i dont know how strong they are compared to a cultus 4wd box

steve


Yes, DMWDave does an LSD for the 1600 box, I am running one in my 1600 box atm.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 6:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 12:18 pm
Posts: 1396
Location: Canberra
I believe I will need one of these gearboxes sooner or later.... probably sooner with 20 PSI of boost. 8-[
Does Dave have a secret stash of these gearboxes and shifter, etc. or am I best to source a cheap 1600 Swift GLX sedan in the not too distant future?
I have chatted with Jimersees about his 1600 Swift gearbox to Baleno conversion so I know roughly what it will cost me when my gearbox does throw in the towel. #-o


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 8:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 3303
Location: Brisbane
Yes I do have plenty of 1600 boxes in stock :lol: :lol:
Also have the driveshaft modified brkt ,and rear mount.Can most likely also supply brand new driveshafts to suit fitting into Baleno with kit.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 7:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:16 am
Posts: 82
Location: barbados
dave do you have a website or webstore were you list the parts that you sell?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 3303
Location: Brisbane
I do have a webstore that is near to completition but its not quite finished yet,Im happy to answer any questions regarding parts through pm on this site until my store is up and running.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 2:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 9:16 am
Posts: 82
Location: barbados
thats great new dave hope it has worldwide shipping :D. im far at sea. question dave if i was suppost to use back my gti flywheel as tosh mentioned with the 1600 box in your opinion what would i have to do with the starting motor to work being the flywheel is smaller indiameter when useing with the 1600 box??


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 3:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 3303
Location: Brisbane
No you cant use the gti flywheel with the 1600 box because of that reason,the 1600 flywheel is about 15mm bigger diameter,thats why I said you can use the 1600 flywheel or do like I do and use a billet flywheel made for the job,my billet flywheel is lighter than a std gti flywheel but has the correct width and diameter to suit the 1600 gearbox.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 1:57 pm
Posts: 532
Location: New Zealand
Just out of interest Dave...
I am sure you do/did a billet flywheel for the 4WD Cultus box and wondered what the cost of a flywheel lighter than a std gti for this application would cost?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 2:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2005 6:06 am
Posts: 8
Location: barbados
[-X [-X [-X [-X [-X [-X [-X [-X for soul [-X [-X [-X


Attachments:
35.gif
35.gif [ 8.16 KiB | Viewed 3792 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 1:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 7:40 am
Posts: 453
Location: london
hi dave was told you do some uprated front driveshafts for the 1600/awd just box if so how much are they and what do you get

cheers steve

_________________
http://www.uk-ssgti.com
N/A THE EXPENSIVE WAY TO GO SLOW


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 2:41 am
Posts: 91
Location: barbados
Sorry for misleading anyone but you can use the flywheel from the 1.6 Baleno/Esteem which enables you to use an upgraded GTI pressure plate and clutch disc for samurai/sidekick.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: useing the 1600cc swift gearbox
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 12:00 am
Posts: 2143
Location: Sunny Perth, West Australia
Yes Tosh, we know that you can. This is an old thread, but for information sake..lets be clear on two things..

1. Keeping it basic, the 1600 Baleno/Esteem box is the same size as the box used in a GTi/Swift 1300 (and as Dave has said, is a waste of time converting into a Swift with a turbo).

2. The 1600 box that is commonly refered to as a stronger gearbox and ideal for Turbo conversions is the gearbox out of the 1600 Swift Sedan, which (keeping it basic again) is the same size as the gearbox used in the 1800 Baleno/Esteem, also the same size as the AWD Swift and AWD Justy gearbox.

Hope this clears it up for everyone thinking about gearbox swaps.

_________________
GTi MOTORSPORT
Been quiet lately..still going to rallies.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group