It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:20 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Amp question
PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 7:02 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:00 pm
Posts: 2318
Location: Gawler [SA]
A little off topic but I have just put an amp and speakers into my VE ute. Had been going great for the few days I had them installed. Tonight I went down to the servo, turned the car off whilst waiting so left it on ACC so I could still listen to the stereo (amp remote wire is hooked up to acc wire not a stereo wire). Turned it back on to move the car and no music, same after filling and getting home. Checked all the connections, amp fuses, amp power cable fuse, turned car on and off, stereo on and off, un-did the battery for a while, checked the earth. And still nothing. It is an Alpine PDX-V9.

Any ideas guys?

_________________
Bewitched Performance Crew
White 93 GTi
BD14 Cams
Growly Cam Gears
SR20DE Throttle Body
Gtaye Performance Chip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amp question
PostPosted: Thu Apr 04, 2013 9:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:31 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Brisbane_Australia
check its earthed properly, it seems like a stupid problem but youd be surprised... my old amp used to do this alot and i ended up grinding where it was grounded to make sure it had a stable connection and it worked a treat.

Is the amp turning on at all?

_________________
06 BF MKII XR6 Falcon
05 VZ Commodore
89 VN Calais 5Ltr
92 R32 Skyline RB20DET
96 Pulsar SR20DE
And soon, a 92 Swift GTi... I like variety ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amp question
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 1:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:00 pm
Posts: 2318
Location: Gawler [SA]
Amp is turning on and has power. Just no sound.

_________________
Bewitched Performance Crew
White 93 GTi
BD14 Cams
Growly Cam Gears
SR20DE Throttle Body
Gtaye Performance Chip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amp question
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 1:31 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Brisbane_Australia
Hmm :/ Odd... only thing I can think of would be output wires. or if your amp is bridgeable a switch could have been flipped.

_________________
06 BF MKII XR6 Falcon
05 VZ Commodore
89 VN Calais 5Ltr
92 R32 Skyline RB20DET
96 Pulsar SR20DE
And soon, a 92 Swift GTi... I like variety ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Amp question
PostPosted: Fri Apr 05, 2013 10:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 12:40 pm
Posts: 4019
Location: penriff
Tried calling alpine? Sounds like a warranty issue.

_________________
Insert sig here


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group